Twenty-nine Womble Carlyle attorneys have been named the “Lawyer of the Year” for their specific market and practice area by "The Best Lawyers in America."

Womble Carlyle’s 2017 Lawyers of the Year are:


  • Elizabeth J. Bondurant—Litigation – ERISA
  • William M. Ragland, Jr.—Litigation – Mergers and Acquisitions


  • David B. Hamilton—Government Relations Practice
  • Barry J. Herman—Litigation – Patent

Charleston, S.C.

  • J. Marshall Allen—Health Care Law
  • David M. Collins—Admiralty and Maritime Law
  • C. Allen Gibson, Jr.—Construction Law
  • Henry E. Grimball—Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants
  • Charles P. Summerall IV—Bet-the-Company Litigation

Charlotte, N.C.

  • Cornelius W. Coghill, III—Litigation – Trusts and Estates
  • James P. Cooney, III—Appellate Practice
  • Jeffrey S. Hay—Venture Capital Law
  • Mark J. Horoschak—Antitrust Law
  • Cyrus M. Johnson, Jr.—Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)
  • William C. Matthews, Jr.—Real Estate Law
  • Claire J. Rauscher—Criminal Defense: White Collar
  • Michael A. Tobin—Copyright Law

Greensboro/Winston-Salem, N.C.

  • Gregory M. Chabon—Commercial Transactions/UCC Law
  • Ellen M. Gregg—Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants
  • Jeffrey T. Lawyer—Trusts and Estates
  • James K. Phillips—Antitrust Law
  • William R. Whitehurst—Tax Law

Greenville, S.C.

  • Elizabeth O. Temple—Securities / Capital Markets Law

Raleigh, N.C.

  • Elizabeth K. Arias—Litigation – Trusts and Estates
  • Marilyn R. Forbes—Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • Johnny M. Loper—Administrative/Regulatory Law
  • Pressly M. Millen—Antitrust Law
  • Kenneth N. Shelton—Private Funds /Hedge Funds Law

Washington, D.C.

  • Randall A. Hanson—Mergers and Acquisitions Law

Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the Lawyer of the Year. Winners are selected based on peer-review assessments of abilities, professionalism and integrity.