A proven leader with extensive litigation experience, Erin Taylor has spent over 15 years practicing in federal court and developing a reputation as a passionate, credible, and thoughtful advocate. She began her legal career in private practice, representing clients in criminal defense matters and special proceedings. In 2008, Erin transitioned to the Office of  the Federal Public Defender for the Western District of North Carolina, most recently serving as Trial Unit Chief of the Charlotte Division. On top of a full caseload, she managed a team of trial attorneys and legal support staff. As a member of the management team, she contributed to the creation of policies and procedures that impacted the office at every level. Erin also acted as a liaison between the FPD and federal agencies, including the U.S. Probation Office, U.S. Attorney’s Office, and U.S. Marshal’s Service. 

Passionate about service, Erin is an active member of the Mecklenburg County Bar and Bar Foundation. In 2013, she was identified as an emerging leader and nominated to join the MCB Bar Leadership Institute. From there, her leadership roles within the organization included chairing various committees, conducting investigations for the Grievance Committee, and serving on the Board of Directors. After being elected to the Executive Committee in 2018, Erin was elected President of the Mecklenburg County Bar in 2022. 

Professional & Civic Engagement

  • Mecklenburg County Bar and Bar Foundation (2011-Present)
    • President (2022-2023)
    • Executive Committee (2018-2022)
      • President-Elect (2021-2022)
      • Vice President (2020-2021)
      • Secretary (2018-2020)
    • Grievance Committee (2013-2016, 2019-2022) 
    • Board of Directors (2016-2018)
    • Committee Service (Regulatory) Committee (2012-2016), Chair/Vice-Chair (2014-2016)
    • Diversity and Inclusion Committee (2015-2018)
    • MBF McMillan Fellowship Fund Committee (2017-Present), Chair (2020-2021)
    • DE&I Pipeline Programming Subcommittee (2011-2023), Co-Chair (2015-2016)
    • Lawyers As Volunteers Advisory Panel (2014-2016)
    • Diversity Day Subcommittee (2012)