RALEIGH, NC—Pick a week in 2018 and chances are, Womble Bond Dickinson’s David Boaz was doing something to help others.

Boaz is the 2018 winner of Womble Bond Dickinson’s Don Donadio Community Service Award. The award was established in 2016 to honor Don Donadio, a founding partner of the firm’s Raleigh office. The Don Donadio Community Service Award is given annually to the Triangle associate attorney who, during the year, has exemplified Don’s outstanding civic commitment and leadership in serving the Triangle community.

Boaz’s community service benefits organizations that impact the environment, higher education, healthcare, and equal justice. His far-reaching commitment to the community includes serving in the following leadership roles:

  • Board Member and Chair of Community Outreach, Alliance Young Professionals (a young professionals group supporting Alliance Medical Ministry)
  • Board Member, Lumber River Conservancy
  • Committee Member, Wake County Bar Awards for Legal Aid
  • Board Member, NC State College of Humanities and Social Sciences Dean’s Advisory Board
  • Member, NC LEAP Committee (NCBA’s Lawyers for Entrepreneurs Assistance Program)
  • Planning Committee, NC State Lawyers Alumni Society
  • Raleigh Office Representative, Womble Bond Dickinson Pro Bono Committee
  • Member, North Carolina Bar Association Young Lawyers Division Pro Bono Committee.

Boaz also helped lead and organize the Raleigh and RTP offices’ Habitat for Humanity build days, and he is a regular volunteer with the Triangle Land Conservancy.

Most recently, he helped organize the firm’s participation in the “Clear the Cue” event, which helped NC Free Legal Answers clear the queue of its backlogged questions. NC Free Legal Answers is a pro bono initiative of North Carolina Bar Foundation, in which financially eligible clients can get answers to basic legal questions free of charge.

Attorneys Sarah Core, Taylor Ey, Mason Freeman and Larry Moye also were nominated for the 2018 Don Donadio Community Service Award. Previous winners of the award are Anna Short-Slightom (2017) and Orla O’Hannaidh (2016).

Boaz was honored at the Triangle Office Holiday Party on Dec. 1.